Taking back the power.

I don’t think of myself as a Charlotte – maybe a Miranda with a little bit of Samantha, but I feel this quote so much today. I’m exhausted, and it shouldn’t have to be this way.

So I’ve decided I’m taking back the power. I always worry about being too picky, too demanding – but you know what? My first impression/instincts usually turn out to be right. If you listen to someone, they’ll tell you about themselves; you just have to hear it the first time instead of making an exception out of fear of looking too picky. This has come around to bite me in the ass one time too many, and I’m over it. I overlook the douchey because I swear they’re really not that bad (they are).

I have some standards that I am no longer willing to compromise on. And why should I? I’m looking for someone to spend the rest of my life with. That’s a long ass time to spend with someone to just settle for whoever wants to be with me. I have a right to keep looking for exactly what I want.

I don’t want someone to compromise for me either – I want to be the person someone has dreamed of marrying. I want someone who loves me like crazy, and thinks my messy curly hair is charming. Okay, maybe that’s a little Charlotte coming out – I never said my heart was COMPLETELY made out of ice (only like 90%).

So, I’m putting my foot down and keeping my standards high. I’m also deleting my dating apps for now, because I’m just feeling done with the hunt. I have my own life going on, and I’d much rather someone approach me in real life instead of hiding behind a screen name (LOVE BONE. I will never let that go) and saying whatever they want. At this point in my life, I like being by myself. I don’t have to answer to anyone, I don’t feel restricted in any way (I’m actually going back to school…Lord help me), and whoever comes along is going to have to be great enough for me to want to give that up.

Also….I’m done with dudes who want me to be a side chick. I don’t know how I’ve gotten to be like a go-to girl for dudes in relationships, but please leave me alone. I don’t want no scrubs.

I know what I bring to the table. I know I could be an awesome partner in life. So whoever you are, future Mr. Nicole Sosa, you better be amazing.

2 thoughts on “Taking back the power.

Leave a Reply

